Concerts › Aroha Quartet "Flight"

See Aroha Quartet "Flight" in concert

Acclaimed as demonstrating "accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity" (The Dominion Post), the Aroha String Quartet is firmly established as one of New Zealand's finest chamber music ensembles.

"Our Flight programme takes wing with one of Haydn's most popular works, his 'Lark' Quartet in D Op 64 No 5. The second piece is String Quartet No 4 by Polish composer Grazyna Bacewicz. This passionate music won her first prize at an international competition for string quartets in 1951. We mark the 50th anniversary of the death of one of the Twentieth Century's key musical figures, Igor Stravinsky, with his miniature Concertino for String Quartet, written in his neo-classical style. We finish with Tchaikovsky's String Quartet No 1 in D Op 11, a work full of soaring melodies and heartfelt emotion, famous for its Andante cantabile slow movement."

Aroha Quartet "Flight" will be performing at St George & St John Church, on Sunday 13th June at 4:00pm.

Tickets are available from The Good Life, or at the door for $30/person, or $25/person for groups of 6+ people. Save by buying a Flexiticket for 3 Visiting concerts.

« ACE Brass
Previous Concert
Les Voisins »
Next Concert